St James'

C of E Academy

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media


The school is part of the Diocese of Coventry Multi Academy Trust and the AGC is part of the governance structure of the Trust which is responsible for overseeing strategic decisions of the school. The governance structure for the trust as a whole is outlined in the governance structure documents here. As an Academy Governance Committee we work in close partnership with the Headteacher and senior leadership team to ensure the best quality education is provided to every child. It is our responsibility to support, challenge, ask questions and ultimately represent the school community. The Academy Governance Committee acts as a ‘critical friend’ to the senior leadership team, questioning and challenging decisions in a constructive and professional way.


Academy Governance Committees have key roles in relation to: providing support, monitoring and challenge around educational experience and performance; church, community and stakeholder engagement and supporting alignment with Trust strategy, approach, ethos and values. The AGC Members meet regularly, visit the school when possible and during special events.  As a team, we are able to support the school to function well and strive to provide a high standard of education.


As a Church of England Academy (part of the Diocese of Coventry Multi-Academy Trust) all the AGC Members support the school in being a place of inclusive welcome and education for everyone.

Academy Governance Committee (AGC) Members

Head Teacher – Mrs Jane Cook

AGC Chair – Philip Evans

Address: c/o The Diocese of Coventry Multi Academy Trust, Harris CofE Academy, Harris Drive, Overslade Lane, Rugby, CV22 6EA, 01788 422900


The Academy Governance Committee is made up of the following people:

Parent AGC Members

Stephen Rea

Vacancy x 1


Foundation AGC Members

Charles Higgins (Ex-officio) (Vice Chair)

Jayne Corden

Vacancy x 1


Community AGC Members 

Philip Evans (Chair)

Vacancy x 2


Staff AGC Members

Jane Cook (Head Teacher)

Suzanne Hughes

School Governance Professional

Steph Hall